A Man Who was There to Stone the Adultress

A Man Who was There to Stone the Adultress

(3 The scribes and the Pharisees brought a woman who had been caught in adultery; and making her stand before all of them, 4 they said to him, “Teacher, this woman was caught in the very act of committing adultery. 5 Now in the law Moses commanded us to stone such women. Now what do you say?”)

I was there that day.  I am an elder of my town.  The woman was an adulteress and the Law says we had every right to stone her.  The Law doesn’t say to stone her lovers, but it is clear about her.  It says to drag her to the edge of town and kill her.

Jesus humiliated us.  That’s what he did.  We were right to stone that trollop.  It’s in the Law.  She made us all look bad, brought us all down.  We can’t have that stuff in our town.  What will people think? What will God think?  Laws are laws. Who was that Jesus to make me look like that in front of my town?!?! Personally, I’m glad he’s dead.  Serves him right.  We can’t have these people thinking they can get away with stuff like that.  She was an ADULTRESS, no better than a prostitute, for heaven’s sake.  The next thing you know, Jesus would have had this trash thinking they were equal to us…to ME! I keep the Law.  I’m not a prostitute.  MY children aren’t prostitutes.  And DON’T give me some line about poverty and choices either…she could have done something else to feed her kids.  She could have sent them out to beg, and she could have begged herself.  Lots of people make it that way.  It’s the way God intended it.  The weak pass away, and the strong and righteous prosper.  That’s the Law.  Who was this Jesus to tell us anything different?

Humiliate ME in front of my town. Crucified.  That was too good for him, if you ask me.  Serves him right.  Good riddance.

(Turning aside to shoo away a beggar) Hey! Get away from me, you slime! Get a job! I EARN my money. (Walking away) Trash.

1 Comment »

  1. Hey y’all, I just got some feedback from a reader that I should address about this post. The friend asked me whether I believe what’s written here. I replied to her as follows:

    “…no I don’t agree with this fictional character at all. And that is the point of the post. Those of us who follow Christ cringe at the kind of thinking represented in this character. It is this kind of thinking that got Christ crucified, and that crucifies Christ in our midst today. The last two posts on the blog are fictional narratives from Biblical figures and I wrote them to make people think. I hope people are asking themselves whether this character is alive today on our streets, in our churches, or in our own minds. I hope people are reading this and asking themselves whether they are being judgmental or exclusionary. Sometimes I write posts that spell things out for people. But sometimes I think it’s fruitful to simply post things that make people think about their own beliefs and practices, and their own relationship with Christ and the people around them who are suffering and in need of compassion. This character’s thinking represents the opposite of compassion, and represents everything that is used to justify violence done in God’s name. So…NO, I don’t agree with this fictional character’s thinking, but I do think a lot of people who call themselves “Christian” still think like this fictional character.”


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

