A Little Self-Check from Matthew 25

 
Matthew 25:32 All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats, 33 and he will put the sheep at his right hand and the goats at the left. 34 Then the king will say to those at his right hand, ‘Come, you that are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world; 35 for I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, 36 I was naked and you gave me clothing, I was sick and you took care of me, I was in prison and you visited me.’ 37 Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when was it that we saw you hungry and gave you food, or thirsty and gave you something to drink? 38 And when was it that we saw you a stranger and welcomed you, or naked and gave you clothing? 39 And when was it that we saw you sick or in prison and visited you?’ 40 And the king will answer them, ‘Truly I tell you, just as you did it to one of the least of these who are members of my family, you did it to me.’ (You might check into Mat 25:41-46, too)

 I am just writing today as a check-in with my own soul and to offer other believers the opportunity to check in with theirs.  Every once in a while, I need some accountability and some clarity of what matters…and what doesn’t matter…and the consequences of getting sucked into what doesn’t matter.  So, today, I am just putting this passage out there.  I am going to read it several times today and really take it to heart.  It is among the clearest passages of the Gospels in terms of what participation in Christ’s present Kingdom means.

Am I leading my community deeper in this direction, or am I heading up committees and boards whose purpose is to select nice color schemes and design fancy worship services aimed at attracting more people to more worship services?  Is our worship a celebration of participation in this present Kingdom, or is it just a talisman to ward off the wrath of God?  Am I living generously…crazy generously?  Is my community living out these mandates…not as mandates…but as simply “getting” what it is to live in God’s present Kingdom?  What portion of my personal budget of time, talent and treasure is devoted to this…and what portion is devoted to newer cooler stuff?  And what portion of my community’s budget is devoted to this, as opposed to newer cooler programs that attract people to our newer cooler programs?  How much of the resource of time that our people can devote goes to these things, and how much goes to church growth programs that lead only to more growth programs?  Where am I today? If today is my last day, how will I measure up?  How will WE measure up? Am I someone that Jesus can count on? Are we?  Those questions will occupy my heart today…

Leave a Reply

